NEW FOCUS MICROPLASTICS

Stop replenishment!

The topic of microplastic has been known since the 1970s and has been more or less shadowy. Today, microplastics is increasingly on everyone’s lips. Suddenly it comes back in the form of food from the sea back to the countries of origin. In the sea, the amount of plastic increases continuously. The five plastic islands in the oceans with macroplastic, the precursor to secondary microplastics, are growing permanently. The islands are now to be reduced media effective. But is that a substantial contribution? – Only 20% of plastic waste in the sea is floating on the surface, i. up to 30 meters below the water surface. 80% are – at present irretrievably – on the seabed. In Germany, macroplastic accounts for 26% of plastic emissions [from Frauenhofer UMSICHT]. The bulk is microplastic.

Five facts

  • 74% of the emitted plastic is microplastic
  • 22% of the waste water passes into our inland waters unpurified
  • Main causes: traffic, infrastructure, construction industry
  • Inland and coastal waters significantly more polluted than offshore
  • Intelligent channel management (machines and IT) reduces plastic emissions
World Water Day 1
Own representation based on: Projektträger Jülich, Forschungszentrum Jülich GMbH (on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research | Data source Federal Institute for Risk Assessment, Federal Environment Agency, German Bundestag, printed matter 18/2985, 27.10.14
World Water Day 2
Own illustration based on: AWI Litterbase. Display filtered by microplastic particles (100nm - 5mm) per m² (Available on 08/05/2018, GIS Viewer 1.0 | Copyright 2017 Alfred Wegener Institute Heimholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research).

Impact on human-beings

  • Negative impacts on Fertility
  • Deterioration of the immune system
  • Increase in the mortality rate

The logical conclusion is that plastic emissions must be reduced. Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety and Energy Technology UMSICHT demands a reduction to a 27th. In the retail sector, initiatives are being taken to save plastic in order not to bring plastic to the market. The sewage treatment plants in Germany achieve a deposition of the microplastic by 95%, with 35% of the microplastic being applied again as sewage sludge.

In Germany, 22% of the wastewater (62% of the rainwater and less than 1% of the wastewater) is not treated in sewage treatment plants, but discharged into our inland waters unpurified. This happens at overflows in the sewer system as soon as they have to be relieved of an event such as heavy rain. At this critical point, the use of modern fine rakes is a must. Advanced operators are familiar with HST solutions for overflows or are already using them. According to the current state of knowledge, the combined sewage system with its 13% share of unexplained precipitation water is far more efficient in terms of plastic retention than the separation system with 43%. The concentration of particles / m3 is significantly higher in inland and coastal waters than in the high seas. Therefore, recovery in these areas is also particularly effective.

In less developed infrastructure regions, in addition to the micro- and the macroplastic, water flows unhindered. Here the importance of meaning shifts to macroplastic. This shift is compounded by the fact that in many countries there is no deposit and often no collection system. The result is rivers with a closed plastic layer.

HST Systemtechnik has long been committed to the reduction of plastic emissions. Initially, by assisting ocean-going projects such as Pacific Garbage Screening to dump the macro-plastic islands, HST is now shifting its focus, according to scientific evidence, to reducing the entry of microplastics from inland waters across rivers, harbors, and coastal waters. The plastic waste is thus cut off the supply.

Even today, HST technology, with its digitized, intelligent rake and artificial intelligence, holds back a maximum of microplastics from the amounts of tee water. Based on the optimal control of the freight flows in the channel, the HST rake is only cleaned depending on the event. As a result, a filter cake accumulates in front of the rake, which retains not only macroplastic but also microplastics and other fines and suspended matter. This affects the 22% share of unpurified wastewater, making it an essential step in reducing plastic emissions.

Impact on the ecosystem

  • Negative effect on organisms by strangulation
  • Effects on organisms by ingestion and excretion (Egestion); through accumulation, translocation and transfer within the food chain
  • Chemical hazards due to release of additives, monomers and critical metabolites
  • Carryover of species (drifting)
  • Physical effects on an ecosystem
World Water Day 3
Source: Fraunhofer UMSICHT / Plastics in the environment: micro- and macroplastic

To move further towards the reduced emissions target of 3.7%, new technologies are needed to stop microplastic replenishment from inland waters. To this end, HST initiates a university challenge among the brightest minds. In the autumn of 2019, a competition will be launched for the best solution for extracting plastic emissions from inland waters. The best solution will be included in the product portfolio by HST.

Everybody has to do his part so that the problem of plastic waste in waters does not increase any further and above all does not get lost in discussions. The share of urban water management is considerable. Where rakes are used today, the macroplastic can already be absorbed. A contribution against microplastics and other suspended and fines is so far only the HSR rake with IntelliScreen. The ecological Effizeinz is significantly increased by the use of an Intelli-led channel management and finds its current maximum efficiency through the inclusion of the precipitation portal Nira.web. This system technology by HST means that only a fraction of the microplastic, which is normally chipped off through thresholds, first reaches inland waters and then into oceans.

News on the topic

Definitions Plastic types and fractions
(Fraunhofer – BMU)

Microplastic Type A Production of a product (cosmetics) - 11%
Microplastic Type B Production using a product (transport, infrastructure, buildings etc.) - 89%
Secondary microplastic arises from the decomposition of macroplastic

See BMU 2015 p. 10f – does not differentiate between type A and type B

Classification and designation of plastic waste

Diameter of plastic waste in the sea English term German translation Typical dimensions of affected living beings Typical dimensions of industrial applications of plastic
> 25 mm Macroplastic Macro plastic parts Vertebrates, birds Semi-finished products and final product
5 - 25 mm Mesoplastic Mesokunststoff-parts Birds, fish Semi-finished products and granules (pellets)
1 - 5 mm Large microplastic- particle Large microparticles made of plastic Fish, shellfish Granules (pellets)
< 1 mm Small microplastic particle Small microparticles made of plastic Shells, plankton Microparticles in the cosmetics industry

Classification and designation of plastic waste in the sea on the basis of their size compared to typical dimensions of affected animals and industrial applications of. Plastic (Source: own illustration after JRC 2013, STAP 2011)

References:

  • Bertling, Jürgen; Bertling, Ralf; Hamann, Leandra: Plastics in the environment: micro- and macro-plastic. Causes, quantities, environmental fates, effects, solutions, recommendations. Short version of the consortium study, Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety and Energy Technology UMSICHT (ed.), Oberhausen, June 2018
  • Helcom: Blastic – plastic pathways from land to sea. Pressure 3-2015.
  • Essel, Roland; Angel, Linda; Carus, Michael: Federal Environment Agency: Sources of microplastics relevant to marine conservation in Germany. 63/2015.
  • Federal Environmental Agency: microplastic in the sea – how much? From where? Press release 34, 2015.
  • Federal Environmental Agency: Together against the littering of the seas. , 2014.

NEUER FOKUS MIKROPLASTIK

Nachschub stoppen!

Das Thema Mikroplastik ist bereits seit den 1970ern bekannt und führte bisher mehr oder minder ein Schattendasein. Heute ist Mikroplastik zunehmend in aller Munde. Plötzlich kommt es nämlich in Form von Nahrung aus dem Meer wieder in die Herkunftsländer zurück. Im Meer nimmt die Kunststoffmenge kontinuierlich zu. Die fünf Plastikinseln in den Weltmeeren mit Makroplastik, die Vorstufe zu sekundärem Mikroplastik, wachsen permanent. Die Inseln sollen jetzt medienwirksam reduziert werden. Aber ist das ein substanzieller Beitrag? – Nur 20% des Kunststoffmülls im Meer schwimmen an der Oberfläche, d.h. bis zu 30 Meter unter der Wasseroberfläche. 80% liegen –zurzeit unwiederbringlich – auf dem Meeresgrund. In Deutschland macht Makroplastik 26% der Kunststoffemissionen [aus Frauenhofer UMSICHT]. Das Gros ist Mikroplastik.

Fünf Thesen

  • 74% des emittierten Kunststoffs ist Mikroplastik
  • 22% des Abwassers gelangt ungereinigt in unsere Binnengewässer
  • Hauptverursacher: Verkehr, Infrastruktur, Bauwirtschaft
  • Binnen- und Küstengewässer erheblich belasteter als Hochsee
  • Intelligentes Kanalmanagement (Maschinen und IT) reduziert Kunststoffemission
Weltwassertag 7
Eigene Darstellung in Anlehnung an: Projektträger Jülich, Forschungszentrum Jülich GMbH (im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung | Datenquelle Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung, Umweltbundesamt, Deutscher Bundestag, Drucksache 18/2985 vom 27.10.14
Weltwassertag 8
Eigene Darstellung in Anlehnung an: AWI Litterbase. Anzeige gefiltert nach Mikroplastikpartikeln (100nm - 5mm) pro m² (Abrufdatum 08.05.2018, GIS Viewer 1.0 | Copyright 2017 Alfred-Wegener-Institut Heimholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung).

Auswirkungen auf den Menschen

  • Beeinträchtigung der Fertilität
  • Verschlechterung des Immunsystems
  • Steigerung der Sterblichkeitsrate

Die logische Schlussfolgerung daraus ist, dass die Kunststoffemissionen reduziert werden müssen. Fraunhofer Institut für Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und Energietechnik UMSICHT fordert eine Reduktion auf ein 27stel. Im Handel werden Initiativen zur Einsparung von Plastik gestartet, um Kunststoff nicht in den Markt zu bringen. Die Kläranlagen in Deutschland erreichen eine Abscheidung des Mikroplastiks um 95%, wobei 35% des Mikroplastiks davon als Klärschlamm wieder ausgebracht werden.

In Deutschland werden 22% des Abwassers (62% des Niederschlagswassers und weniger als 1% des Schmutzwassers) nicht in Kläranlagen behandelt, sondern ungereinigt in unsere Binnengewässer abgeleitet. Das geschieht an Überläufen im Kanalsystem, sobald diese bei einem Ereignis wie Starkregen entlastet werden müssen. An dieser kritischen Stelle ist der Einsatz moderner Feinrechen ein Muss. Fortschrittliche Betreiber kennen die Lösungen von HST für die Überläufe oder setzen sie bereits ein. Die Mischwasserkanalisation ist mit lediglich 13% Anteil an ungeklärten Niederschlagswasser in Bezug auf die Kunststoffrückhaltung nach heutigem Wissensstand deutlich effizienter als das Trennsystem mit 43%. Die Konzentration von Partikeln/m3 ist in Binnen- und Küstengewässern erheblich höher als in der Hochsee. Deshalb ist die Rückgewinnung in diesen Bereichen auch besonders effektiv.

In weniger entwickelten Infrastrukturregionen gelangt neben dem Mikro- auch das Makroplastik ungehindert in Gewässer. Hier verschiebt sich die Bedeutungshoheit hin zum Makroplastik. Diese Verschiebung wird dadurch verstärkt, dass es in vielen Ländern kein Pfand- und häufig auch kein Sammelsystem gibt. Ergebnis sind Flüsse mit einer geschlossenen Plastikschicht.

Die HST Systemtechnik engagiert sich schon lange für die Reduktion von Kunststoffemissionen. Anfänglich durch Unterstüztung von Hochseeprojekten, wie Pacific Garbage Screening zur Abschöpfung der Makroplastikinseln, verlagert HST nunmehr den Fokus, entsprechend der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse, auf die Reduktion des Neueintrags von Mikroplastik aus Binnengewässern über Flüsse, Häfen und Küstengewässer. Dem Plastikmüll wird so der Nachschub abgeschnitten.

Schon heute hält HST-Technologie mit seinen digitaliserten, intelligenten Rechen und Künstlicher Intelligenz ein Maximum auch des Mikroplastiks aus den Abschlagswassermengen zurück. Basierend auf der optimalen Steuerung der Frachtströme im Kanal wird der HST-Rechen nur ereignisabhängig gereinigt. Dadurch sammlt sich vor dem Rechen ein Filterkuchen an, der nicht nur Makroplastik sondern auch Mikroplastik und andere Fein- und Schwebstoffe zurückhält. Das betrifft den 22 prozentigen Anteil des ungereinigten Abwassers und ist damit ein wesentlicher Schritt zur Reduzierung der Kunststoffemissionen.

Auswirkungen auf das Ökosystem

  • Negative Wirkung auf Organismen durch Strangulation
  • Wirkungen auf Organismen durch Aufnahme (Ingestion) und Ausscheidung (Egestion); durch Akkumulation, Translokation sowie Transfer innerhalb der Nahrungskette
  • Chemische Gefahren durch Freisetzung von Additiven, Monomeren und kritischen Metaboliten
  • Verschleppung von Arten (Drifting)
  • Physikalische Auswirkungen auf ein Ökosystem
Weltwassertag 9
Quelle: Fraunhofer UMSICHT / Kunststoffe in der Umwelt: Mikro- und Makroplastik

Um weitere Schritte in Richtung des reduzierten Emissionsziels von 3,7% zu erreichen, sind neue Technologien, für die Unterbindung des Mikroplastiknachschubs aus Binnengewässern erforderlich. Hierzu initiiert HST eine Hochschul-Challenge unter den klügsten Köpfen. Im Herbst 2019 wird ein Wettbewerb für die beste Lösung der Entnahme von Kunststoffemissionen aus Binnengewässern ausgeschrieben. Die beste Lösung wird von HST in das Produktportfolio aufgenommen.

Damit die Problematik Kunststoffabfall in Gewässern nicht weiter zunimmt, und sich vor allem nicht weiter in Diskussionen verliert, muss jeder seinen Beitrag leisten. Der Anteil der Siedlungswasserwirtschaft ist erheblich. Wo heute Rechen eingesetzt werden, kann das Makroplastik bereits absorbiert werden. Ein Beitrag gegen Mikroplastik und andere Schweb- und Feinstoffe leistet bislang nur der HSR Rechen mit IntelliScreen. Die ökologische Effizeinz wird durch den Einsatz eines Intelli-geleiteten Kanalneztmanagement erheblich gesteigert und findet seine aktuell maximale Leistungsfähigkeit durch die Einbeziehung des Niederschlagsportals Nira.web. Diese Systemtechnik von HST führt dazu, dass nur noch ein Bruchteil des Mikroplastiks, das normalerweise über Schwellen unbehandelt abgeschlagen wird, zunächst in Binnengewässer und danach in Meere gelangt.

Aktuelles zum Thema

Weltwassertag 10

Wasserwirtschaft in China

Innovationsfreudigkeit und Technologieführerschaft sichern HST-Geschäfte in China langfristig ab. Die Wasserwirtschaft in China steht vor besonders großen Herausforderungen, wenn es um die Bewältigung der massiven…

weiterlesen >
Weltwassertag 11

Wirkweise IntelliScreen

Ein erheblicher Teil des Niederschlags wird über Kanalnetze in Städten und Gemeinden abgeleitet. Je nach Belastung und Entwässerungskonzept (Misch- oder Trennsystem) erfolgt bei Starkregen eine…

weiterlesen >
Weltwassertag 13

Smart Machines: Vom Stahl zum Chip

Intelli-Systeme bilden das Rückgrat der digitalen (R)evolution Automatisierungstechnik, Software und IT-Kommunikation bilden seit vielen Jahren die Basis moderner Ausrüstungssysteme in kommunalen Infrastrukturen. Zuerst waren es…

weiterlesen >

Definitionen Kunststoffarten und -fraktionen
(Fraunhofer – BMU)

Mikroplastik Typ A Erzeugung bei der Herstellung eines Produkts (Kosmetika) – 11%
Mikroplastik Typ B Erzeugung bei der Verwendung eines Produktes (Verkehr, Infrastruktur, Gebäude etc.) – 89%
Sekundäres Mikroplastik entsteht aus der Zersetzung von Makroplastik
vgl BMU 2015 S. 10f – unterscheidet nicht Typ a und Typ B

Klassifizierung und Bezeichnung von Kunststoffabfällen

Durchmesser der Kunststoff-abfälle im Meer Englischer Begriff Deutsche Übersetzung typische Dimensionen betroffener Lebewesen typische Dimensionen industrieller Anwendungen von Kunststoff
> 25 mm Macroplastic Makrokunststoff-teile Wirbeltiere, Vögel Halbzeuge und Endprodukt
5 - 25 mm Mesoplastic Mesokunststoff-teile Vögel , Fische Halbzeuge und Granulat (Pellets)
1 - 5 mm Large microplastic- particle Große Mikropartikel aus Kunststoff Fische, Schalentiere Granulat (Pellets)
< 1 mm Small microplastic particle Kleine Mikropartikel aus Kunststoff Muscheln, Plankton Mikropartikel in der Kosmetikindustrie
Klassifizierung und Bezeichnung von Kunststoffabfällen im Meer auf Basis ihrer Größe im Vergleich zu typischen Dimensionen betroffener Lebewesen und industrieller Anwendungen von. Kunststoff (Quelle: eigene Darstellung nach JRC 2013, STAP 2011)

Quellen:

  • Bertling, Jürgen; Bertling, Ralf; Hamann, Leandra: Kunststoffe in der Umwelt: Mikro- und Makroplastik. Ursachen, Mengen, Umweltschicksale, Wirkungen, Lösungsansätze, Empfehlungen.Kurzfassung der Konsortialstudie, Fraunhoferinstitut für Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und Energietechnik UMSICHT (hrsg.), Oberhausen, Juni 2018
  • Helcom: Blastic – plastic pathways from land to sea. Pressure 3-2015.
  • Essel, Roland; Engel, Linda; Carus, Michael: Umweltbundesamt: Quellen für Mikroplastik mit Relevanz für den Meeresschutz in Deutschland. 63/2015.
  • Umweltbundesamt: Mikroplastik im Meer – wie viel? Woher? Presseinfo 34, 2015.
  • Umweltbundesamt: Gemeinsam gegen die Vermüllung der Meere. 2014.